A collar, tag and microchip help Hawaiian Humane Society reunite thousands of animals with their owners every year. By simply complying with the laws that require cats to have ID and dogs to wear a county-issued license, you can help your missing pet get home.
Get your cat or dog microchipped at Hawaiian Humane for $20, which includes registration in Oahu’s microchip database. No appointment is required. Walk-ins are welcome any day of week between Noon and 4 pm to the Adoptions or Admissions Center.
U.S. microchip makers AVID and HomeAgain offer registration services, which is important if you relocate from Oahu. AVID chips can be registered by calling 1-800-336-2843. HomeAgain allows self-registration here. If you’re unsure which brand of chip your pet has, look it up here.
Microchips used for pet identification are about the size of a grain of rice. In a procedure similar to a vaccination, the microchip is injected just under the skin between the shoulder blades and lasts for life. Each microchip contains a unique number.
A City & County of Honolulu dog license is what’s considered legal proof of ownership.
Mail these signed forms to the Hawaiian Humane Society.
Dog Licensing Makes You the Legal Owner
$10 Dogs 4 months through 7 months
$10 NEUTERED dogs 8 months or older, with veterinarian certificate
$28.50 UNNEUTERED dogs, 8 months old and over
City & County of Honolulu law requires that all dogs, four months or older, have and wear a county-issued license tag. This identifies you as the legal owner. A tag can be purchased at any Satellite City Hall or at Hawaiian Humane Society. All address changes, transfers of ownership and updates must be done via the City & County of Honolulu at Satellite City Hall.
Mail these signed forms (one per dog) along with payment to the below address. Or bring them in to any Satellite City Hall or the Hawaiian Humane Society:
Department of Customer Services
Division of Motor Vehicle, Licensing & Permits
PO Box 30310
Honolulu, Hawaii 96820-0310
Check payable to: City & County of Honolulu
Applicant must be at least 18 years old. Licenses expire on December 31 of every second year and must be renewed before March 10 following the expiration date. If your dog has been tattooed with a number or microchipped, note the number on the application.
Give Consent to Have Someone Else Reclaim Your Pet
If you plan to leave your pet in another’s care, provide your pet’s guardian with a signed authorization giving others the authority to claim your pet.